Prithibi Bangla Band is a Bengali rock band formed in Kolkata, India in the year 2001. Presently the band consists of Kaushik (lead vocals, composer, lyricist), Bubun (Guitars), Prosanto (Bass, backing vocals) and Arnab (Drums, percussions). The band became more popular with audiences when they stood 1st runner up in a competition, Band-E-Mataram held in Kolkata by a music channel, Sangeet Bangla, record label Asha Audio and Sangbad Pratidin in the year 2005.Their first ‘self-titled’ album released under one of the major record labels, Asha Audio in the year 2007.Their music is a blend of various genres like classic rock, 80's glam rock, metal and bengali rock along with modern poetical lyrics written and composed by Kausiq.


In 2001, when three Ashutosh College students, Kausiq, Abhijit and Souvik joined together to form a band, Prithibi was found. Before forming the band, three of them used to jam together at the canteen corner. Among them Kaushik was already a solo artiste and did many projects in and outside kolkata. Meanwhile he was also searching for a ‘dologoto proyash’ i.e. a band to create music.
The band experienced a flurry of lineup changes until 2005, by which time a sort of permanency was attained - Kaushik (vocals), Bubun (guitars), Prosanto (Bass), Arnab (Drums), Samarpan (guitars) and Amin (Keyboards).
2005 was also the year when Prithibi stood 1st runner up in the competition ‘Band-e-Mataram’. In 2007 they released there.
First “self-titled” album, which did pretty well. The album also had one of their hit songs, ‘O Amar’ which topped the charts for weeks.
By the end of 2007 keyboardist Amin left the band for some of his personal reasons. Presently, they are working on their next studio album.